Fundamentals in Economics

Supply and demand, the theory of budgeting (budget preferences, budget constraint, consumer surplus, decision to purchase or save, labour supply by the consumer, etc.), decision in case of uncertainty, theory of the firm (technology, production theory and cost theory, etc.), perfect competition (profit maximization, producer surplus, etc.), monopoly, monopolistic competition, oligopolistic theory, environmental economics, empirical data of national income and expenditure, goods market, financial markets, monetary policy, inflation, unemployment, economic cycle, social balance, fiscal policy, Keynesianism vs. Neo-liberalism, economic growth and wealth, neo-Keynesian models and Phillips curve, IS-LM model, AS-AD model

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

Bofinger, P. (2019): Grandzüge der Volkswirtschaftslehre. Eine Einführung in die Wissenschaft von Märkten. 4. Auflage, München: Pearson. Jäger, J. & Springler, E. (2012): Ökonomie der internationalen Entwicklung, eine kritische Einführung in die Volkswirtschaftslehre, Mandelbaum. Required literature will be distributed in the first course meeting. (BEWE)

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

Classroom teaching, lecture, exercises, e-learning

Assessment methods and criteria

Continuous assessment, final exam, practical course part (case studies on current economic policy issues, group work)

Infos

Degree programme

European Economy & Business Management (Bachelor)

Cycle

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

German

Curriculum

Part-Time

Academic year

2021

Semester

1 WS

Incoming

No

Learning outcome

After successful completion of this course, students will be able to understand political science issues as well as micro-economic and macro-economic topics that are currently discussed in the public sphere, and to form an opinion about them. Building on this knowledge and by employing additional discussion and reflection exercises, participants will develop a differentiated perspective of different economic theories as well as underlying conceptions. The learning outcomes of this course contribute mainly to the following (international) programme learning outcomes: LO 2.1./ILO 5 LO 2.2./ILO 6

Course code

0389-20-01-BB-DE-10

Ökonomische Grundlagen

Angebot und Nachfrage, Theorie des Haushalts (Präferenzen der Haus-halte, Budgetbeschränkung, Konsumentenrente, Konsum- und Sparentscheidung, Arbeitsangebot der Konsumenten etc.), Entscheidungen bei Unsicherheit, Theorie der Unternehmung (Technologie, Produktions- und Kostentheorie etc.), Vollkommene Konkurrenz (Gewinnmaximierung, Produzentenrente etc.), Monopol, Monopolistische Konkurrenz, Oligopoltheorie, Umweltökonomie, Empirische Daten der Volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnung, Gütermarkt, Finanzmärkte, Geldpolitik, Inflation, Arbeitslosigkeit, Konjunktur, Sozialer Ausgleich, Fiskalpolitik, Keynesianismus versus Neoliberalismus, Wirtschaftswachstum und Wohlstand, Neukeynesianische Modelle

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

Bofinger, P. (2019): Grundzüge der Volkswirtschaftslehre. Eine Einführung in die Wissenschaft von Märkten. 4. Auflage, München: Pearson. Jäger, J. & Springler, E. (2012): Ökonomie der internationalen Entwicklung, eine kritische Einführung in die Volkswirtschaftslehre, Mandelbaum.

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Präsenzunterricht, Vortrag, Übungseinheiten, E-Learning

Prüfungsmethode

LV-immanenter Prüfungscharakter. Abschließende Prüfung, Mitarbeitsteil (Fallstudien zu aktueller Wirtschaftspolitik, Gruppenarbeiten)

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Europäische Wirtschaft und Unternehmensführung (Bachelor)

Akademischer Grad

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Deutsch

Studienplan

Berufsbegleitend

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2021

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

1 WS

Incoming

Nein

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Absolvent*innen erhalten einen breiten Überblick über die Themengebiete, Aufgabenstellungen und Methoden der Volkswirtschaftslehre, sowie über grundlegende mikro- und makroökonomische Forschungsansätze. Nach Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind die Studierenden in der Lage, in der Öffentlichkeit geführte Diskussionen über mikro- und makroökonomische Fragen zu verstehen und eigene Positionen zu formulieren. Auf dieser Basis wird durch zusätzliche Reflektion aktueller Problemstellungen ein tieferes und differenziertes Verständnis ökonomischer Theorie gefördert. Die Lernergebnisse dieser Lehrveranstaltung beziehen sich hauptsächlich auf folgende (International) Programme Learning Outcomes: LO 2.1./ILO 5 LO 2.2./ILO 6

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

0389-20-01-BB-DE-10