Basic Theories in HR Management

• Theory, practice, empiricism, meaning and functions of theory • Processes and stages of development of HR Management (from HR administration to the (digital) design of the world of work) • Goals and stakeholders of HR Management • Interfaces and relations of HR Management to different areas of organisations • Impact/outcome of HR Management on/for internal areas and external environments • Theoretical perspectives on HR Management with regard to the concept of employment relations • Models and instruments of strategic HR Management

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

Boxall, P. & Purcell, J. (2017). Strategy and Human Resource Management (4th edition). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Bratton, J.& Gold, J. (2017). Human Resource Management: Theory and Practice (6th edition). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Storey, J., Wright, P., Ulrich, D. (eds.) (2018). The Routledge Companion to Strategic Human Resource Management. London: Routledge Wilkinson, A., Bacon N., Snell, S., Lepak, D. (eds.) (2019). The SAGE Handbook of Human Resource Management. London: Sage.

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

Blended learning (classroom teaching, online, guest lectures), one-minute papers, discussions in small groups, online votings, online quizzes, learning videos

Assessment methods and criteria

Final written exam

Prerequisites and co-requisites

none

Infos

Degree programme

Digital HR & angewandtes Arbeitsrecht

Cycle

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

English

Curriculum

Part-Time

Academic year

2022

Semester

1 WS

Incoming

No

Learning outcome

After successful completion of the course, the students can • distinguish between theory, practice and empiricism and explain the scientific and practical meaning of theories in general and with regard to HR Management • describe development processes and stages of HR Management (from HR administration to the (digital) design of the world of work) • identify the main stakeholders in HR Management and at the interfaces of HR Management and outline their roles with regard to HR Management • explain and critically reflect on theoretcical perspectives on HR Management, especially with regard to operational working relationships and social exchange relationships • compare approaches of strategic HR Management and their impact on organisations and employees and describe the roles of HR Management • describe the economic and social goals of HRM and critically reflect on/explain the connection between these goals

Course code

1705-21-01-BB-DE-02

Basic Theories in HR Management

• Theorie, Praxis, Empirie, Bedeutung und Funktionen von Theorie • Prozesse und Entwicklungsstufen des HR Managements (von der HR Administration zur (digitalen) Gestaltung der Arbeitswelten • Ziele und AkteurInnen des HR Managements • Schnittstellen und Beziehungen des HR Managements zu anderen Bereichen von Organisationen • Auswirkungen/Outcomes des HR Managements auf interne Bereiche und externe Umwelten • theoretische Perspektiven auf HR Management mit Bezug auf das Konzept der Arbeitsbeziehungen (Employment Relations) • Modelle und Instrumente des strategischen HR Managements

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

Boxall, P. & Purcell, J. (2017). Strategy and Human Resource Management (4. Auflage). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Bratton, J.& Gold, J. (2017). Human Resource Management: Theory and Practice (6. Auflage). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Storey, J., Wright, P., Ulrich, D. (Hrsg.) (2018). The Routledge Companion to Strategic Human Resource Management. London: Routledge Wilkinson, A., Bacon N., Snell, S., Lepak, D. (Hrsg.) (2019). The SAGE Handbook of Human Resource Management. London: Sage.

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Blended Learning (Präsenz & Online, Gastvorträge), One Minute Papers, Diskussionen in Kleingruppen, Online-Abstimmungen, Online-Quizzes, Lernvideos

Prüfungsmethode

Schriftliche Abschlussprüfung

Voraussetzungen laut Lehrplan

Keine

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Digital HR Management und angewandtes Arbeitsrecht (Master)

Akademischer Grad

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Englisch

Studienplan

Berufsbegleitend

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2022

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

1 WS

Incoming

Nein

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung sind die Studierenden in der Lage, • Theorie, Praxis und Empirie voneinander abzugrenzen und die wissenschaftliche und praktische Bedeutung von Theorien generell und in Bezug auf HR Management zu erläutern, • Entwicklungsprozesse und -stufen des HR Managements zu beschreiben (von der HR Administration zur (digitalen) Gestaltung der Arbeitswelten), • die wesentlichen Akteure im HR Management und an den Schnittstellen zum HR Management zu identifizieren und ihre Rollen in Bezug auf das HR Management darzustellen, • theoretische Perspektiven auf HR Management zu erläutern und kritisch zu reflektieren, vor allem im Hinblick auf betriebliche Arbeits- und soziale Austauschbeziehungen, • strategische HR Management Ansätze zu vergleichen und deren Auswirkungen auf Organisationen, MitarbeiterInnen und die HR Management-Rollen zu beschreiben, • ökonomische und soziale Ziele des HRM zu beschreiben und die Zusammenhänge zwischen diesen Zielen kritisch zu reflektieren und zu erläutern.

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

1705-21-01-BB-DE-02