Scientific Writing II: Quantitative Methods

Philosophy of science basics, aims of scientific work, formulation and evaluation of research questions, literature research, evaluation and management of literature sources, preparation process of a research paper, time planning for research papers, structure and outline of a research paper, scientific writing style, formatting and citation rules, creativity techniques, overview of the methods of quantitative social research.

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

Haslehner, F. / Wala, T. (2008): Bachelor- and Diplomarbeiten an Fachhochschulen, Wien: LexisNexis Rössl, D. (Hrsg.) (2008): Die Diplomarbeit in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Ein Leitfaden, 4. Aufl., Wien: facultas (BEWU)

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

Lecture, discussions, group tasks, individual assignments

Assessment methods and criteria

Continuous assessment, exercises and written assignments

Infos

Degree programme

European Economy & Business Management (Bachelor)

Cycle

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

1.00

Language of instruction

German

Curriculum

Part-Time

Academic year

2022

Semester

3 WS

Incoming

No

Learning outcome

After successful completion of the course, students can form and evaluate research questions within scientific work. They can distinguish and apply methods and research approaches of quantitative research. The learning outcomes of this course contribute mainly to the following (international) programme learning outcomes: LO 4.1 methods

Course code

0389-20-01-BB-DE-25

Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten II: Quantitative Methoden

Grundlagen der Wissenschaftstheorie, Ziele von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, Formulierung und Bewertung von Forschungsfragen, Literaturrecherche, Bewertung und Verwaltung von Literaturquellen, Erstellungsprozess einer Studienarbeit, Zeitplanung für Studienarbeiten, Aufbau und Gliederung einer Studienarbeit, Wissenschaftlicher Schreibstil, Formatier- und Zitiervorschriften, Kreativitätstechniken, Überblick über die Methoden der quantitativen Sozialforschung.

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

Haslehner, F. / Wala, T. (2008): Bachelor- und Diplomarbeiten an Fachhochschulen, Wien: LexisNexis Rössl, D. (Hrsg.) (2008): Die Diplomarbeit in der Betriebswirtschaftlehre. Ein Leitfaden, 4. Aufl., Wien: facultas

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Vortrag, Diskussion, Gruppenarbeiten, individuelle Abgaben

Prüfungsmethode

LV-immanenter Prüfungscharakter, Übungsaufgaben und schriftliche Ausarbeitung

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Europäische Wirtschaft und Unternehmensführung (Bachelor)

Akademischer Grad

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

1.00

Unterrichtssprache

Deutsch

Studienplan

Berufsbegleitend

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2022

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

3 WS

Incoming

Nein

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Nach Absolvierung dieser Lehrveranstaltung sind die Studierenden in der Lage, Forschungsfragen im Rahmen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens zu formulieren und zu bewerten. Methoden und Forschungsansätze im Bereich der quantitativen Forschung können unterschieden und angewendet werden. Die Lernergebnisse dieser Lehrveranstaltung beziehen sich hauptsächlich auf folgende (International) Programme Learning Outcomes: LO 4.1. methodischer Beitrag

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

0389-20-01-BB-DE-25