Project Portfolio Management

• context of project portfolio management: project-oriented organization, multi-project management, strategic management, • definitions, aims and benefits of project portfolios and project portfolio management, • project portfolio life cycle, • basic elements and success factors of project portfolio management (e.g. strategic portfolio management, portfolio governance, portfolio value and risk management; portfolio resource management, stakeholder management), • selected methods and instruments of project portfolio management, • organization of project portfolio management: organizational context, stakeholders, roles and bodies, communication structures

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

• Lazar, O. (2018): The Four Pillars of Portfolio Management: Organizational Agility, Strategy, Risk, and Resources. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group • Gareis, L./Gareis, R. (2018): Project. Program. Change. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group • Patzak, G./Rattay, G. (2011): Project Management. Guideline for the management of projects, project portfolios, programs and project-oriented companies. Vienna: Linde • Project Management Institute (2017): The Standard for Portfolio Management – 4th Edition. Newton Square: PMI

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

lecture, case study, group tasks, presentation, discussion, online/blended learning elements

Assessment methods and criteria

written final exam as well as assessment of the quality of students’ group assignments and participation

Prerequisites and co-requisites

Project Management, Developments in Project Management

Infos

Degree programme

Projectmanagement & Organisation (Master)

Cycle

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

English

Curriculum

Part-Time

Academic year

2023

Semester

2 SS

Incoming

No

Learning outcome

After successfully completing this course, students will be able to • understand and explain the aims and challenges of project portfolio management, • illustrate the concept of project portfolio life cycle and its application and benefits for project portfolio management, • describe basic elements and crucial success factors of a systematic project portfolio management approach and use a standard vocabulary for project portfolio management, • understand the relationship between a project portfolio and its compo-nents and illustrate how to “balance” a portfolio in various ways, • describe and illustrate the roles and competences needed in project portfolio management, • illustrate different approaches to embedding project portfolio manage-ment in an organization including its advantages and disadvantages and design them in a specific case study, and • apply selected "good practice" methods and techniques of project port-folio management (e.g. for project categorization/selection/priori¬tization/ validation, portfolio controlling and reporting, portfolio risk management, portfolio stakeholder and communication management) in a specific case study and develop appropriate instruments.

Course code

0388-20-01-BB-DE-15

Project Portfolio Management

• Kontext des Projektportfoliomanagements: Projektorientierte Organisation, Multiprojektmanagement, Strategisches Management • Definitionen, Ziele und Nutzen von Projektportfolios und Projektportfoliomanagement • Projektportfolio-Lebenszyklus • Projektportfoliomanagement-Grundelemente und Erfolgsfaktoren (z.B. Strategisches Portfoliomanagement, Portfolio-Governance, Portfolio Value- und Risk-Management; Portfolio-Ressourcenmanagement, Stakeholder-Management) • Ausgewählte Methoden und Instrumente des Projektportfoliomanagements • Organisation des Projektportfoliomanagements: Organisationaler Kontext, Stakeholder, Rollen und Gremien, Kommunikationsstrukturen

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

• Lazar, O. (2018): The Four Pillars of Portfolio Management: Organizational Agility, Strategy, Risk, and Resources. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group • Gareis, L. / Gareis, R. (2018): Project. Program. Change. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group • Patzak, G. / Rattay, G. (2011): Project Management. Guideline for the management of projects, project portfolios, programs and project-oriented companies. Wien: Linde • Project Management Institute (2017): The Standard for Portfolio Management – Fourth Edition. Newton Square: PMI

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Vortrag, Fallbeispiel, Gruppenarbeit, Präsentation, Diskussion, E-Learning/Blended Learning-Elemente

Prüfungsmethode

Schriftliche Abschlussprüfung sowie Beurteilung der Qualität der von den Studierenden erledigten Gruppenarbeiten und Mitarbeit.

Voraussetzungen laut Lehrplan

Module Projektmanagement, Entwicklungen im Projektmanagement

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Projektmanagement und Organisation (Master)

Akademischer Grad

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Englisch

Studienplan

Berufsbegleitend

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2023

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

2 SS

Incoming

Nein

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, • die Ziele und Herausforderungen des Projektportfoliomanagements zu verstehen und zu erklären, • das Konzept des Projektportfolio-Lebenszyklus und seine Anwendung und Nutzen für das Projektportfoliomanagement zu erläutern, • Grundelemente und kritische Erfolgsfaktoren eines systematischen Projektportfoliomanagementansatzes zu beschreiben und ein Standardvokabular für Projektportfoliomanagement zu verwenden, • die Beziehung zwischen einem Projektportfolio und seinen Komponenten zu verstehen und zu erläutern, wie man ein Portfolio auf unterschiedliche Weisen „balanciert“, • die Rollen und Kompetenzen, die im Projektportfoliomanagement benötigt werden, zu beschreiben und zu erläutern, • verschiedene Ansätze zur Einbettung von Projektportfoliomanagement in eine Organisation einschließlich ihrer Vor- und Nachteile zu erläutern und fallbeispiel-spezifisch zu gestalten sowie • ausgewählte "Good Practice"-Methoden und -Techniken des Projektportfoliomanagements (z.B. für Projektkategorisierung/-auswahl/-priorisierung/-validierung, Portfolio-Controlling und -Reporting, Portfolio-risikomanagement, Portfolio-Stakeholder- und Kommunikationsmanagement) fallbeispielspezifisch anzuwenden und entsprechende Instrumente zu entwickeln.

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

0388-20-01-BB-DE-15