Organizational Design

• basics of the organization: the "Organization" phenomenon from the perspectives of different disciplines, • conceptual design alternatives: primary versus secondary organizations, • approaches, principles and instruments of structural and procedural formation (formal structures, process design, management system, orientation of organizational culture, etc.), • assessment of optimal organizational form through effectiveness and efficiency criteria, • new and alternative concepts of organizational design, • change management – models and instruments for designing organizational change, OD concepts, success and failure factors of organizational change, • models of organizational learning, • overview and selected approaches of organizational theory

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

• Mayrhofer, W./Furtmüller, G./Kasper, H. (eds.) (2015): Personalmanagement - Führung - Organisation, 5th ed., Vienna: Linde • Vahs, D. (2019): Organisation. Ein Lehr- und Managementbuch, 10th ed., Stuttgart: Schäffer-Poeschel

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

lecture, discussion, individual and small-group tasks, case studies (partly distance learning), presentations

Assessment methods and criteria

written final exam as well as assessment of the quality of student assignments and participation

Infos

Degree programme

Projectmanagement & Organisation (Master)

Cycle

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

German

Curriculum

Part-Time

Academic year

2022

Semester

1 WS

Incoming

No

Learning outcome

After successfully completing this course, students will be able to • provide a methodologically sound outline of a suitable organizational view on projects and the organization of projects, • discuss organizational matters in a solution-oriented and interconnected manner, • apply the instruments of organizational and operational structure fitting for the business context, development stage and project orientation (depending on life cycle, environment, business size, etc.), • appropriately employ new and alternative concepts of organizational de-sign (virtual organization, modular organization, fractal organization, etc.), • carry out the practical realization of suitable organizational designs in various forms, • describe the areas of activity of change management as well as models of organizational change and organizational learning, and • classify the practice of organizational work also theoretically and explain it by means of selected organizational theory approaches.

Course code

0388-20-01-BB-DE-09

Organisationsdesign

• Grundlagen der Organisation: Das Phänomen "Organisation" aus dem Blickwinkel verschiedener Disziplinen; • Konzeptionelle Gestaltungsalternativen: Primär- versus Sekundärorganisationen; • Ansätze, Prinzipien und Instrumente der Struktur- und Prozessbildung (formale Strukturen, Prozessdesign, Führungssystem, Ausrichtung der Organisationskultur etc.); • Beurteilung der optimalen Organisationsform nach Effektivitäts- und Effizienzkriterien; • Neue und alternative Konzepte der Organisationsgestaltung; • Change-Management – Modelle und Instrumente zur Gestaltung des organisatorischen Wandels, OE-Konzepte, Erfolgs- und Misserfolgsfaktoren des organisatorischen Wandels; • Modelle des organisationalen Lernens; • Überblick und ausgewählte Ansätze der Organisationstheorie

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

• Mayrhofer, W. / Furtmüller, G. / Kasper, H. (Hrsg.) (2015): Personalmanagement - Führung - Organisation, 5. Aufl., Wien: Linde • Vahs, D. (2019): Organisation. Ein Lehr- und Managementbuch, 10. Aufl., Stuttgart: Schäffer-Poeschel

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Vortrag, Diskussionen, Einzel- und Kleingruppenarbeiten, Fallstudien, z.T. in Fernlehre, Präsentationen

Prüfungsmethode

Schriftliche Abschlussprüfung sowie Beurteilung der Qualität der von den Studierenden erledigten Arbeitsaufträge und Mitarbeit.

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Projektmanagement und Organisation (Master)

Akademischer Grad

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Deutsch

Studienplan

Berufsbegleitend

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2022

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

1 WS

Incoming

Nein

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss dieser Lehrveranstaltung sind die Studierenden in der Lage, • eine geeignete Organisationssicht auf Projekte und die Organisation von Projekten methodisch fundiert darzulegen, • problemlösungsorientiert und vernetzt Organisationsfragen zu diskutieren, • die Instrumente der Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation passend zum betrieblichen Kontext, zu Entwicklungsstadium und zur Projektorientierung (je nach Lebenszyklus, Umfeld, Betriebsgröße etc.) anzuwenden, • neue und alternative Konzepte der Organisationsgestaltung angemessen einzusetzen (virtuelle Organisation, modulare Organisation, fraktale Organisation etc.), • die praktische Ausgestaltung von passenden Organisationdesigns in verschiedenen Formen vorzunehmen, • die Handlungsfelder des Change-Managements sowie Modelle des organisatorischen Wandels und des organisatorischen Lernens zu beschreiben sowie • die Praxis der Organisationsarbeit auch theoretisch einzuordnen und mit Hilfe ausgewählter Ansätze der Organisationstheorie zu erklären.

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

0388-20-01-BB-DE-09