Media Landscape and Media Politics

This course locates Austrian, European and international media players within the political and economic system and teaches fundamentals of media policy. Furthermore, historical and current trends in the Austrian media landscape will be discussed, and an overview of publishing formats, broadcasting and broadcasting regulations and media promotion will be given. Digitalization and convergence will be discussed as a challenge for film and media policy.

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

Kaltenbrunner A. et. Al. (2007), Der Journalisten-Report. Österreichs Medien und ihre Macher. Kaltenbrunner A. (2006), Medienpolitik, in: Talos, E. (Hg.), Schwarz-Blau. Eine Bilanz des „Neu-Regierens“; LIT, Wien-Münster ( nur ein Kapitel: p. 117 – 136) Stark B./ Magin M. (Hg.) (2009), Die österreichische Medienlandschaft im Umbruch, Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Wien. (ausgewählte Kapitel) Käfer, P. (2008), Medien und Politik, Band 2 der Reihe „1x1 der Politik“, Holzhausen, Wien ( „Brevier“ zur Medienlandschaft) Jarren O., Donges P. (2006), Politische Kommunikation in der Mediengesellschaft, Eine Einführung. VS Verlag, Wiesbaden.

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

Applied methods including macro and micro levels of teaching. Macro methods are analyses of markets and contents. Micro methods are keynote lectures, dialogic learning, analyses of examples and discussions. Students work in groups or in the plenum.

Assessment methods and criteria

One grade for both lecture and tutorial part of class. In total 70 points for final written exam. The tutorial part is worth 30 points (continuous assessment). In total 100 points are to be obtained.

Prerequisites and co-requisites

none

Infos

Degree programme

Film-, TV-, & Media Production (Bachelor)

Cycle

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

German

Curriculum

Full-Time

Academic year

2021

Semester

1 WS

Incoming

Yes

Learning outcome

After the successful completion of this course the students will be able to describe ownership structures and the structural context esp. of the Austrian media landscape in the context of European and international trends. The students will have learned to observe via current specialist media and literature how technical innovation, societal and economic trends as well as political regulation influence and change the media and journalism. The students will be able to analyze how media systems and democracy are linked.

Course code

0702-11-01-VZ-DE-06

Medienlandschaft und Medienpolitik

• Österreichische, europäische und internationale Medienakteure innerhalb des politischen und ökonomischen Systems • Grundbegriffe der Medienpolitik • historische und aktuelle Entwicklungen der österreichischen Medienlandschaft Überblick über publizistische Formate • Rundfunk- und Rundfunkregulierung und Medienförderung • Digitalisierung und Konvergenz als film- und medienpolitische Herausforderung.

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

Kaltenbrunner, Andy/Lugschitz, Renée, Karmasin, Matthias/Luef, Sonja/Kraus, Daniela (2020): Der österreichische Journalismus-Report. Eine empirische Erhebung und eine repräsentative Befragung. Facultas, Wien. Kaltenbrunner, Andy (2019): Geschichte der Tagespresse und Magazine nach 1945, in: Karmasin, Matthias/ Oggolder, Christian (Hrsg.): Österreichische Mediengeschichte. Springer VS, Wiesbaden. S. 175-197. Kaltenbrunner, Andy (2019): Schwarz-blaue Medienpolitik, in: Emmerich Talos (Hrsg.): Die Schwarz-Blaue Wende in Österreich. Eine Bilanz. LIT-Verlag, Wien. S. 139-168

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Vortrag, Arbeitsaufträge und Präsentationen, Diskussion im Plenum..

Prüfungsmethode

Immanente Leistungsfeststellung (Mitarbeit und Arbeitsaufträge) und schriftliche Abschlussprüfung.

Voraussetzungen laut Lehrplan

keine

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Film-, TV- und Medienproduktion (Bachelor)

Akademischer Grad

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Deutsch

Studienplan

Vollzeit

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2021

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

1 WS

Incoming

Ja

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, • Eigentumsverhältnisse und Strukturzusammenhänge insbesondere der österreichischen Medienlandschaft im Kontext der europäischen und internationalen Entwicklungen zu beschreiben, • über aktuelle Fachmedien und Literatur zu beobachten, wie technische Veränderungen, gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Trends und politische Regulierung Medien und Journalismus verändern, • zu analysieren, wie Mediensysteme und Demokratie ineinandergreifen.

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

0702-11-01-VZ-DE-06