Intercultural Management

Cultural diversity as a problem and as an opportunity, the concept of culture; cultural studies (Edward T. Hall, Geert Hofstede, Fons Trompenaars, John Mole, Alexander Thomas, Mary Douglas, Robert J House); forms of international staff deployment, communication and negotiation skills in an intercultural context, leadership and motivation in different cultures; intercultural marketing; conflicts in intercultural contexts; intercultural ethics; intercultural training

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

Deresky, H., International Management – Managing Across Borders and Cultures: Text and Cases. Pearson Education, 9th revised ed. 2016 Hofstede, G. / Hofstede, G.J. / Minkov, M. (2010):Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, 3. Aufl., New York: McGraw-Hill

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

Integrated class

Assessment methods and criteria

Continuous assessment

Prerequisites and co-requisites

management fundamentals, operative management fundamentals

Infos

Degree programme

European Economy & Business Management (Bachelor)

Cycle

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

German

Curriculum

Full-Time

Academic year

2021

Semester

4 SS

Incoming

Yes

Learning outcome

The acquired skills in the previous modules in the area of Management will be applied to international business activities in order to emphasize their advantages. On completion of this course, the students will be in the position to demonstrate sensitivity for cultural differences and can therefore, using their advanced foreign language skills, (especially Business English) effectively communicative with foreign business partners and would also be able to successfully pursue careers abroad.

Course code

0389-11-01-VZ-DE-35

Interkulturelles Management

Kulturelle Unterschiedlichkeit als Problem und als Chance; Kulturbegriff; Kulturverglei-chende Studien (Edward T. Hall, Geert Hofstede, Fons Trompenaars, John Mole, Alexander Thomas, Mary Douglas, Robert J House); Formen des internationalen Personaleinsatzes; Kommunikation und Verhandlungstechnik im interkulturellen Kontext; Führung und Motivation in unterschiedlichen Kulturkreisen; Interkulturelles Marketing; Konflikte im interkulturellen Kontext; Interkulturelle Ethik; Interkulturelles Training

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

Deresky, H., International Management – Managing Across Borders and Cultures: Text and Cases. Pearson Education, 9th revised ed. 2016 Hofstede, G. / Hofstede, G.J. / Minkov, M. (2010):Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, 3. Aufl., New York: McGraw-Hill

Lern- und Lehrmethode

ILV

Prüfungsmethode

LV-immanenter Prüfungscharakter

Voraussetzungen laut Lehrplan

aus Modul(en) "Management Grundlagen", "operatives Management", "strategisches Management"

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Europäische Wirtschaft und Unternehmensführung (Bachelor)

Akademischer Grad

Bachelor

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Deutsch

Studienplan

Vollzeit

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2021

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

4 SS

Incoming

Ja

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Die in den vorangegangenen Modulen des Bereichs Management erworbenen Kompetenzen werden auf internationale Geschäftstätigkeit angewendet und um in diesem Rahmen förderliche Aspekte erweitert. Die Studierenden sind nach Abschluss dieser Lehrveranstaltung in der Lage, Sensibilität für kulturbedingte Unterschiede zu entwickeln und somit - in Verbindung mit fortgeschrittenen Fremdsprachenkenntnissen (insb. Wirtschaftsenglisch) - mit ausländischen Geschäftspartnern weithin widerspruchsfrei zu kommunizieren und erfolgreich in einem anderen Land beruflich tätig sein.

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

0389-11-01-VZ-DE-35