Digital HR Practices IIa: Performance Management & Total Rewards

• Meaning of performance management and total rewards for the company’s success, job satisfaction, motivation, qualifications and engagement of employees • Phases, criteria, stakeholders and success factors for performance management programmes • Objectives and contributions of performance management to the company strategy • Definition of qualitative and quantitative objectives and selection of suitable indicators and data for performance measurement • Contribution of the company and employees to performance (resources, leadership, focus, feedback) • Selection of evaluators, measuring errors, feedback procedures and their impact on the company and employees • Reasons and possible measures in case of performance change (AMO framework) • Job evaluation based on objective criteria as basis for fair and transparent total rewards systems: job grading, job families and consideration of company-specific framework conditions • Determination of salary ranges for positions and job families • Tangible and intangible benefits considering individuals motives and interests • Gender pay gap, diversity, transparency and possible further influencing factors for total rewards systems

Mode of delivery

face to face

Type

compulsory

Recommended or required reading and other learning resources/tools

Bratton, J.& Gold, J. (2017). Human Resource Management: Theory and Practice (6th edition). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Crawshaw et al (2020) Human Resource Management: Strategic and International Perspectives, Sage, 3rd edition. Martocchio, J. (2020): Strategic Compensation: A Human Resource Management Approach. Pearson (10th edition) Niven, P., Lamorte, B. (2016): Objectives and Key Results: Driving Focus, Alignment, and Engagement with OKRs. Wiley Petry, T., Jäger, W. (Hrsg.) (2018). Digital HR: Smarte und agile Systeme, Prozesse und Strukturen im Personalmanagement. Freiburg: Haufe. Wilkinson, A., Bacon N., Snell, S., Lepak, D. (eds.) (2019). The SAGE Handbook of Human Resource Management. London: Sage.

Planned learning activities and teaching methods

Blended learning (classroom teaching and online, maybe also guest lectures), lecture, discussion in small groups, group work, digital learning formats (micro learning), peer feedback, reciprocal learning

Assessment methods and criteria

Continuous assessment and final written exam

Prerequisites and co-requisites

Strategic and Sustainable HR Management and HRM & (Digital) HR Practices I

Infos

Degree programme

Digital HR & angewandtes Arbeitsrecht

Cycle

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Language of instruction

English

Curriculum

Part-Time

Academic year

2023

Semester

2 SS

Incoming

No

Learning outcome

After successful completion of the course, the students can • describe the meaning of performance management and total rewards for the company’s success, the job satisfaction and engagement of employees • identify and analyse the main objectives, programmes, measures and methods for performance management and total rewards • select suitable methods and strategies and design evidence-based, fair and motivating framework conditions • analyse the impact of different performance management and total rewards approaches and develop sustainable measures for improvement • deduce requirements concerning digital tools and software solutions and suitable research tools (e.g. digital feedback tools, pulse survey)

Course code

1705-21-01-BB-DE-11

Digital HR Practices IIa: Performance Management & Total Rewards

• Bedeutung von Performance Management und Total Rewards für den Unternehmenserfolg, die Arbeitszufriedenheit, die Motivation, die Qualifikationen und das Engagement der MitarbeiterInnen • Phasen, Kriterien, Akteure und Erfolgsfaktoren für Performance Management Programme • Zielsetzungen und Beitrag des Performance Managements zur Unternehmensstrategie • Definition qualitativer und quantitativer Ziele und Auswahl geeigneter Indikatoren und Daten zur Messung von Performance • Beitrag des Unternehmens und der MitarbeiterInnen zur Performance (Ressourcen, Führung, Fokus, Feedback) • Auswahl der BewerterInnen, Messfehler und Feedbackverfahren und deren Auswirkungen auf Unternehmen und MitarbeiterInnen • Ursachen und mögliche Maßnahmen bei Änderungen der Performance (AMO Framework) • Stellenbewertungen nach objektiven Kriterien als Basis für faire und transparente Total Rewards Systeme: Job Grading, Job Families und Berücksichtigung unternehmensspezifischer Rahmenbedingungen • Ausgestaltung von Gehaltsbandbreiten für Positionen und Job Families • Materielle und immaterielle Benefits unter Berücksichtigung individueller Motive und Interessen • Gender Pay Gap, Diversity, Transparenz und mögliche weitere Einflussfaktoren für Total Rewards Systeme

Art der Vermittlung

Präsenzveranstaltung

Art der Veranstaltung

Pflichtfach

Empfohlene Fachliteratur

Bratton, J.& Gold, J. (2017). Human Resource Management: Theory and Practice (6. Auflage). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Crawshaw et al (2020) Human Resource Management: Strategic and International Perspectives, Sage, 3. Auflage Martocchio, J. (2020): Strategic Compensation: A Human Resource Management Approach. Pearson (10. Auflage) Niven, P., Lamorte, B. (2016): Objectives and Key Results: Driving Focus, Alignment, and Engagement with OKRs. Wiley Petry, T., Jäger, W. (Hrsg.) (2018). Digital HR: Smarte und agile Systeme, Prozesse und Strukturen im Personalmanagement. Freiburg: Haufe. Wilkinson, A., Bacon N., Snell, S., Lepak, D. (Hrsg.) (2019). The SAGE Handbook of Human Resource Management. London: Sage.

Lern- und Lehrmethode

Blended Learning (Präsenz & Online, evtl. Gastvorträge), Vortrag, Diskussionen in Kleingruppen, Gruppenarbeit, digitale Lernformate (Micro Learning), Peer Feedback, reziprokes Lernen.

Prüfungsmethode

Immanente Leistungsfeststellung und schriftliche Abschlussarbeit.

Voraussetzungen laut Lehrplan

Strategisches und nachhaltiges HR Management; HRM & (Digital) HR Practices I

Schnellinfos

Studiengang

Digital HR Management und angewandtes Arbeitsrecht (Master)

Akademischer Grad

Master

ECTS Credits

3.00

Unterrichtssprache

Englisch

Studienplan

Berufsbegleitend

Studienjahr, in dem die Lerneinheit angeboten wird

2023

Semester in dem die Lehrveranstaltung angeboten wird

2 SS

Incoming

Nein

Lernergebnisse der Lehrveranstaltung

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung sind die Studierenden in der Lage, • die Bedeutung von Performance Management und Total Rewards für den Unternehmenserfolg, die Arbeitszufriedenheit und das Engagement der MitarbeiterInnen zu beschreiben, • die wesentlichen Ziele, Programme, Maßnahmen und Methoden für Performance Management und Total Rewards zu identifizieren und zu analysieren, • angemessene Methoden und Vorgehensweisen auszuwählen und evidenzbasierte, faire, und motivierende Rahmenbedingungen zu gestalten, • den Einfluss von unterschiedlichen Performance Management und Total Rewards Ansätzen zu analysieren und nachhaltige Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung zu entwickeln, • Anforderungen an digitale Tools und Softwarelösungen abzuleiten und geeignete Tools zu recherchieren (digitale Feedback Tools, Pulse Survey, etc.)

Kennzahl der Lehrveranstaltung

1705-21-01-BB-DE-11